Olivia

Tropical cyclone archives of the 2018 eastern and central Pacific hurricane season
Post Reply
User avatar
Caribbean Traveler
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Antispam: no
Location: Under a palm tree
Contact:

Olivia

Post by Caribbean Traveler » Fri Sep 07, 2018 3:28 pm

Thursday Night Update

Olivia well east of Hawaii

The Weather Situation
Olivia is a classic hurricane far from land at the present time.

Current Tropical Weather
As of 11 PM HST / 5 AM EDT Olivia was centered at 18.6 N / 128.5 W or 1235 miles west of Cabo. It was moving WNW at 3 mph. Top sustained winds are estimated at 125 mph. Pressure was estimated at 954 mb.

Tropical Weather Forecast:
Olivia is expected to slowly weaken as it approaches the Big Island by next Tuesday or Wednesday


Tropicast: Visible Afternoon Satellite
Image

Tropicast: Close - Up Visible Evening Satellite
Image
Rich Johnson
Twitter: https://twitter.com/richjohnsonwx
Certified Broadcast Meteorologist - Hurricane Expert

User avatar
Caribbean Traveler
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Antispam: no
Location: Under a palm tree
Contact:

Re: Olivia

Post by Caribbean Traveler » Sun Sep 09, 2018 9:58 pm

Sunday Night Update

Olivia heading toward Hawaii

The Weather Situation
Olivia is weakening as it approaches Hawaii from the east.

Current Tropical Weather
As of 5 PM HST / 11 PM EDT Olivia was centered at 21.7 N / 146.1 W or 595 miles ENE of Hilo. It was moving west at 12 mph. Top sustained winds are estimated at 75 mph. Pressure was estimated at 988 mb.

Tropical Weather Forecast:
Olivia is expected to slowly weaken as it approaches the eastern Hawaiian Islands from the ENE by Tuesday.


Tropicast: Visible Satellite
Image
Rich Johnson
Twitter: https://twitter.com/richjohnsonwx
Certified Broadcast Meteorologist - Hurricane Expert

User avatar
Caribbean Traveler
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Antispam: no
Location: Under a palm tree
Contact:

Re: Olivia

Post by Caribbean Traveler » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:51 pm

Monday Evening Update

Olivia heading toward Hawaii

The Weather Situation
Olivia is weakening as it approaches Hawaii from the east.

Current Tropical Weather
As of 2 PM HST / 8 PM EDT Olivia was centered at 21.9 N / 149.1 W or 415 miles ENE of Hilo. It was moving west at 9 mph. Top sustained winds are estimated at 75 mph. Pressure was estimated at 991 mb.

Tropical Weather Forecast:
Olivia is expected to slowly weaken as it approaches the eastern Hawaiian Islands from the ENE by Tuesday.


Tropicast: Visible Satellite
Image
Rich Johnson
Twitter: https://twitter.com/richjohnsonwx
Certified Broadcast Meteorologist - Hurricane Expert

User avatar
Caribbean Traveler
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Antispam: no
Location: Under a palm tree
Contact:

Re: Olivia

Post by Caribbean Traveler » Tue Sep 11, 2018 1:31 pm

Tuesday Evening Update

Olivia weakening

The Weather Situation
Olivia continues to weaken as it approaches from the east. The main concern will be heavy rainfall, especially over the central Hawaiian Islands. The heaviest rainfall is currently north of the circulation center. Currently wind shear is disturbing the circulation and will continue to weaken Olivia.

Current Tropical Weather
As of 8 AM HST / 2 PM EDT Olivia was centered at 21.6 N / 151.9 W or 249 miles ENE of Kahului. It was moving west at 10 mph. Top sustained winds are estimated at 65 mph. Pressure was estimated at 999 mb.

Tropical Weather Forecast:
Olivia will bring locally heavy rainfall to the Islands. Some gusty winds to tropical storm strength may be seen also.


Tropicast: Visible Satellite
Image
Rich Johnson
Twitter: https://twitter.com/richjohnsonwx
Certified Broadcast Meteorologist - Hurricane Expert

User avatar
Caribbean Traveler
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3693
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:28 pm
Antispam: no
Location: Under a palm tree
Contact:

Re: Olivia

Post by Caribbean Traveler » Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:03 pm

Wednesday Evening Update

Olivia moving through the central Islands

The Weather Situation
Olivia is bringing rain to the central Hawaiian Islands. It briefly made landfall over Maui and now is moving past Lanai.

Current Tropical Weather
As of 11 AM HST / 5 PM EDT Olivia was centered at 20.9 N / 157.1 W or 60 miles ESE of Honolulu. It was moving west at 15 mph. Top sustained winds are estimated at 45 mph. Pressure was estimated at 1005 mb.

Tropical Weather Forecast:
Olivia will be moving away from the Islands during the next 24 hours.


Tropicast: Visible Satellite
Image

Tropicast: Radar
Image
Rich Johnson
Twitter: https://twitter.com/richjohnsonwx
Certified Broadcast Meteorologist - Hurricane Expert

Post Reply

Return to “2018 Eastern / Central Pacific Hurricane Archives”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest